NCAA Hockey

Mich-AGAIN! U-M Wins Second-Straight Big Ten Tournament Title

NCAA Regional

» Michigan captured its third Big Ten Tournament title in program history, as well as its second straight. All three B1G Tournament titles for U-M have come against Minnesota  (’16, ’22, ’23).

» Dylan Duke scored the game-winning goal with 8:14 left to play, putting Michigan up 4-3.

» Rutger McGroarty scored Michigan’s first two goals and added an assist for a three-point night.

» Adam Fantilli added one assist to set a new Big Ten Tournament scoring record with 11 points. He was named the Most Outstanding Player of the tournament.

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. An inspired effort from every part of the roster helped the second-seeded University of Michigan ice hockey team overcome a third-period deficit to defeat top-seeded Minnesota by a 4-3 score to win the 2023 Big Ten Tournament Championship on Saturday (March 18) inside 3M Arena at Mariucci.

The 4-3 win at Mariucci matches last year’s Big Ten Championship outcome, as the Wolverines have now won back-to-back trophies at the home of the Golden Gophers. All three of Michigan’s modern Big Ten championships have come against Minnesota and in the state of hockey; the 2016 title game took place at Saint Paul’s Xcel Energy Center.

Junior goaltender Erik Portillo started between the pipes for Michigan and backstopped the Wolverines to a one-goal win for the second-straight year. Portillo turned aside 22 of the 25 shots that he…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at University of Michigan Athletics…