NCAA Hockey

RIT Dominates Atlantic Hockey Awards : College Hockey News

Not Enough : College Hockey News

March 15, 2023

Bookmark and Share

CHN Staff Report

WINTHROP, Mass. — Atlantic Hockey announced its 2022-23 regular season awards. Honorees this year include four from Atlantic Hockey regular-season champion RIT – Forward Carter Wilkie (Player of the Year), defenseman Aiden Hansen-Bukata (Best Defenseman), forward Cody Laskosky (Best Defensive Forward) and head coach Wayne Wilson (Coach of the Year).

Player of the Year

Carter Wilkie, So., F, RIT — Wilkie tied for second in the AHA scoring race with 27 points in conference play. He ended the regular season with 37 points on 13 goals and 24 assists, which topped all AHA skaters. Wilkie has recorded back-to-back 30+-point seasons in his first two years with the Tigers.

Rookie of the Year

Max Itagaki, Fr., F, Army West Point — Itagaki finished second in assists in conference play with 20 and finished the full season with 29 to set a new AHA freshman record, breaking the previous record that had stood since 2005-06.

Coach of the Year

Wayne Wilson, RIT — Wilson led the Tigers to their fifth Atlantic Hockey regular-season title; RIT took the conference crown by 10 points over runner-up AIC. The five regular season titles are the most for any school in conference history. Defensively, RIT allowed the fewest goals in the AHA this season. This is his first Atlantic Hockey Coach of the Year honor.

Best Defenseman

Aiden Hansen-Bukata, Jr., D, RIT — Hansen-Bukata finished eighth, and led all defensemen, with 25 points against in league play. The Delta, B.C. native finished the season with 30 assists to become the first Tiger since 2015-16 to log 30 assists in a season.

Best Defensive Forward

Cody Laskosky, Jr., F, RIT — Laskosky helped lead a Tiger defensive effort that topped Atlantic Hockey in scoring defense with a 2.12 goals per-game average. The New Norway, Alta., native registered 66 defensive zone takeaways and 37 hits, and was a plus-15. He also opened the season with a nine-game scoring streak and logged his first career hat trick against Canisius on Dec. 3.

Scoring Champion — Eric Esposito, Gr., F, Mercyhurst

Goaltending Champion — Jarrett Fiske, Sr., G, AIC

Individual Sportsmanship Award — Braeden Tuck, Sr., F, Sacred Heart

Team Sportsmanship Award — Sacred Heart


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at College Hockey News from CHN…