NCAA Hockey

Fantilli Named Finalist for Hobey Baker Award

Fantilli Named Finalist for Hobey Baker Award

Fantilli Named Finalist for Hobey Baker Award

3/15/2023 1:00:00 PM

// Kristy McNeil

ANN ARBOR, Mich.Adam Fantilli of the University of Michigan ice hockey team was named a finalist for the 2023 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, it was announced by the committee on Wednesday (March 15). The Hobey Baker Award is given annually to the top NCAA Division I men’s ice hockey player in the nation.

Through 32 games, Fantilli has 27 goals and 33 assists to lead the nation with 60 points, averaging 1.88 points per game. He has the most points by a Wolverine skater since Kyle Connor had 71 points in 2015-16.

The B1G Freshman of the Year has recorded points in 29 of 32 games and has 18 multi-point performances. He started his career on an eight-game point streak to lead Michigan to a 7-1 start and earned himself the Hockey Commissioners Association Player and Rookie of the Month in October. Fantilli won Player of the Month honors again in February, the only two-time honoree this season as he had 14 points in six games, all against top-10 ranked opponents. Returning from the World Junior Championship, with a gold medal as a member of Team Canada, Fantilli went on a 12-game point streak and pushed his team into second place in the B1G standings.

As Michigan looks to defend its B1G Tournament championship, Fantilli heads into the weekend with the league records in goals scored in a single tournament, with seven and in points in a single tournament with 10.

Fantilli’s 1.88 points per game beat out Kyle Connor’s 1.87 ppg for the best rate among U19 skaters since 2000. It’s only second behind Johnny Gaudreau as the highest season-scoring clip in the last 20 years. The Nobleton, Ontario, native’s points per game is also better than recent Hobey Baker Award winners Andy Miele (1.82), Jack Eichel (1.78), Cole Caufield (1.68), Adam Gaudette (1.58), Kevin Porter (1.47), Jack Connolly (1.46) and Jimmy Vesey (1.39)

The top 10 finalists will now be voted on by a 30-member selection committee and through a second round of fan balloting (March 17-26) to determine the Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists, which will be announced on March 30. The winner will be presented the trophy live on NHL Network on Friday, April 7, at the Frozen Four in Tampa.

The nomination marks the 25th time a…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at University of Michigan Athletics…